Skip to content

*A few weeks home in the South

Between Seattle and Slovakia I got to spend about three weeks home in the South, visiting family and friends.  Last week I went on a six-day road trip with Amanda, one of my best friends from Seattle.

I left Greenville (NC) on Friday morning, picked her up in Ahoskie, NC, and then headed south to Columbia, SC.  We spent the weekend in Columbia visiting my friends from college, and then went to Atlanta on Sunday.  I dropped Amanda off to meet up with her aunt and uncle, and then I joined my brother just in time to go see “Rumors”, a community theater production which Jeffrey designed the set for.  After the show we celebrated my birthday.  The next day I visited my Aunt Hope and cousin Anna, who is leaving while I’m in Slovakia to spend 27 months in Africa with the Peace Corps.   Glad I got to see her before I left!  From Atlanta I traveled to Greenville, SC and spent the night with my Aunt Laura, Uncle Tim, and cousins Stephen and Mary.  Tuesday morning I went to Charlotte where two best friends (Caitlin from NC and Michelle from SC) now live.  Wednesday was my birthday and I celebrated all day: birthday breakfast with Caitlin, birthday lunch in Kernersville, NC with Kary (a college roommate), and then I was back in town in time for a birthday dinner with my family.  All in all, it was a great trip.  (Check out the slideshow below).

Now I’m just a few days away from leaving for Slovakia.  I’m excited to get there, but I’m glad I got to spend some time at home first.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

