Skip to content

*Degree complete!

Well, I am officially a Master of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages now. At least, I have a degree that says so!

Finishing grad school is a great feeling- for the first time in my life, I am done writing papers and taking exams with no future plans for writing or taking any more! (I’m sure I will still be grading quite a few, but that’s another thing entirely).

I had a really great experience at SPU- the program has wonderful professors and I learned so much from both them and my classmates. While I won’t miss the assignments, I will miss seeing my classmates on a regular basis.

The craziest part of it all is that I have now finished doing what I moved to Seattle to do- get a master’s degree. So, this naturally leads to the question that everyone has been asking… what’s next? That’s a great question, and one that I do not have a direct answer for, yet. (However, if you’d rather know the Latin roots of a word like “unanimous” or the difference between the simple past, past progressive, present perfect, present perfect progressive, past perfect, and past perfect progressive, I’m happy to answer those questions, with examples. Email me).

For now, I’ll still be teaching as usual and tutoring for Microsoft. I’m looking for another part-time job as well, preferably teaching an ESL class at a community college, but I’d be up for something that didn’t require planning and preparing as well. I’m also planning to finally complete a very long application for living in a particular country that is close to my heart… but we’ll see what happens with that.  Details will be given when there are details to share.  It’s too early to know anything yet!

One thing is for sure… until further notice, I am quite content to be in Seattle enjoying the sunny weather of summer, the amazing coffee, cheering on the Mariners, and spending time with my incredible friends, not stressing about school!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. KARAM #

    Congratulations Melanie …
    I’m happy for you.

    July 17, 2009
  2. KARAM #

    Ok what NEXT ?!!!!! LOL am just kidding..

    July 17, 2009

Leave a Reply

