Skip to content

*April Showers Bring May Flowers?

As I write this, it is so gray and overcast outside that the Seattle skyline (which I normally have a pretty good view of) is all but invisible.  This morning, a little bit of snow was mixed in with the rain.  However, even though it may not feel like spring at all, “spring” break has come and gone and “spring” quarter has begun, so I guess spring is here.  (At least, Seattle’s version of spring, which is very similar to winter in North and South Carolina).

Spring break was nice, even if it went by too quickly.  Kary (former college roommate) came into town for a long weekend; it was fun to show her around.  Melissa, one of my best friends from high school, is coming to visit at the end of this month, so I’ll have lots of practice “playing tour guide” before Mom and Dad get here in June for graduation.

Speaking of, it’s hard to believe that I’ll actually be done with grad school in “3 months and 15 days” as the countdown on my computer says.  I’ve really enjoyed the program at SPU and I’ll miss seeing my classmates and professors on a regular basis, but I have to say that it will be nice to be just a teacher instead of both a teacher and a student!  I do think this quarter (my next to last quarter) will be less stressful than winter quarter was.  I’m only taking two courses, Professional Issues & Ethics and Phase II of my teaching practicum.

While I’m talking about teaching, I’d like to mention my “class blog.”  I’ve discovered that some people who read this blog actually have stumbled across it while searching for things related to TESOL.  Last quarter, in my “Technology in the Language Classroom” class, we had the opportunity to design a website that was somehow related to English teaching for extra credit.  I created a simple administrative blog for the class I teach where I can post announcements and assignments and where my students can post questions and comments.  If you’re interested, you can check it out here.

Okay, not too much else to say for now.  Check back for another post soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

