Skip to content

*Slovakia 2008.

I just got back late Saturday night from my most recent trip to Slovakia. This year I was there for two weeks, helping out at the Prešov KECY. Prešov is a beautiful town in eastern Slovakia:

I was actually a little nervous about this camp because this was the first time I’ve ever been with Prešov before. Three of the last four years I’ve been at the Bratislava KECY; the other year I was with a small town called Lučenec, but I was in Lučenec for a month before the camp began. I felt like I was going to Slovakia for the first time all over again, since I knew so few of the Slovaks (and Americans) that would be at the camp.

In reality, however, this was one of the best KECYs I’ve been at yet. The Slovak team from the church we worked with was amazing, and the American team was great too. It was a unique camp because instead of a group of Americans coming over together from one American church, we had five small groups of Americans (two teams of interns in SK, another intern team from CZ, a couple from Tennessee, and then Bethany, Claire, and me) join together at camp.

The atmosphere was relaxed and the students were a lot of fun. I think everyone had a good experience, and there was a great turnout at the first post-KECY meeting. It was cool to be a small part of what God is doing in Slovakia. After camp and a couple of days in Prešov, Bethany, Claire, and I traveled to Žilina and Bratislava to visit friends in those cities. We also spent an evening in Vienna before our flight left the next morning.

All in all, this was a really nice trip- it was good to have a short break from work. I’ll post pictures soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

