Skip to content

Birthday Weekend.

Well, this is a week after the fact, but I had a very nice birthday last weekend.

On Friday my students surprised me after the 15-minute break in the middle of class. I came back into the classroom and they all started singing ‘Happy Birthday.’ The board was decorated with a huge “Happy Birthday” song and then they gave me a present: a dress from Gap!

Saturday night they invited me over for a cookout in my honor, which was great! I’m glad my students are mostly around my age (give or take a few years); they’re really cool and we have a lot of fun together.

Sunday I had made plans to go to the Seattle-Atlanta minor league soccer game with my friends. (Next year the Sounder’s will be part of MLS: Seattle Sounders FC)! One of my friends asked if I wanted to go to dinner before the game with her. We went to an Italian restaurant and when we got there I discovered that they had actually planned a surprise birthday dinner with a lot of my friends!

Dinner was great and the soccer game was fun (Seattle won)!

All in all, I had a really great birthday weekend (even if I was 3,200 miles from home).

Between graduating from college, moving to Seattle, starting graduate school, my short-lived stint as a nanny, and becoming a teacher, 22 was a very interesting year. I’m looking forward to seeing what age 23 will bring!

On a different note, I haven’t updated this blog in several weeks, so here’s what I’m up to these days:

-Spring quarter is *almost* over. I have two exams this week, two papers due next week, and then I will have a short break before summer school starts. (Thankfully, summer school only lasts 4 weeks and I’m only taking one course).

-During my break between spring and summer quarters I’m going to Vegas to visit Mom, Dad, and Jeffrey! (Stay tuned for pictures)!

-Wednesday I’m going to see the Mariners play the Red Sox at Safeco Field… I’ve always liked the Red Sox but I’ll be pulling for the Mariners at this game!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

