Skip to content

A Short Note.

I’ve been teaching for about a month now and I’m really enjoying it. However, being both a student and a teacher is a lot of work. Between lesson planning, grading students’ assignments, and working on my own assignments things have been pretty busy lately. Luckily, my quarter at SPU ends on Thursday so I’ll have a 12-day break from being a student. Next quarter I’ll only be taking two classes; hopefully this will make life a little more sane!

Here are a few pictures of a variety things that I have been meaning to post and haven’t gotten around to yet:

1: I talked to Granddad last week and he mentioned how amazed he was at how clean my cousin Margaret’s apartment was compared to all the other apartments/dormrooms of the rest of his grandchildren. I took this picture so you can all see that I actually DO keep my room clean (haha, or at least I try to)!

img_0759.jpg

2: I really love Craig’s List. For a grand total of $55 I have gotten a bed frame, box spring, mattress, 5-foot wide desk, and a full-sized couch. The couch is the latest addition to our apartment; we hadn’t had one until this past weekend when Bethany found a free couch for the first person who came and picked it up. Luckily, my car was just the right size:

img_0767.jpg

Not bad for free, huh?

img_0769.jpg

3: There is ongoing enrollment at the school where I teach, and students can enroll for as little as two weeks or for as many weeks as they like. For this reason, students are always coming and going and the class roster can change very quickly. (My class has changed from 9 students, to 10, to 14, and now on Monday will be back down to 12). Today was the first day I had a student who was leaving my class to return to their home country (instead of moving up to a higher level). Today was also the “Name Day” for my Slovak student. (In Slovakia, every day of the year has a girl’s name and a boy’s name assigned to it. It’s customary for a person’s friends and family to give small gifts to someone on their Name Day. The name day for “Melania” (the Slovak version of my name) is June 26th, in case you were wondering).

To “celebrate” these two students, I brought a box of Mighty O Donuts (local Seattle donut shop) to class for everyone:

picture-1.png

When I came back in to the class room after break, one of my students had drawn this on the board:

img_0771.jpg

I thought it was pretty cute!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kel-Kel #

    Hey Melanie! I found this from your facebook account, and it’s really cool to read what you’re up to! My mom had told me some time ago that she ran into your parents and found out you were in grad school in Seattle – man, i LOOOOVE wa state, and i bet you do too! Your blog is really interesting and it sounds like life is going great for ya! If i ever make it back out that way in the next year or so I’ll look ya up 🙂

    -Kelly

    March 13, 2008
  2. Chris #

    nice caricature…you should use it as your facebook pic. that’s pretty cool.

    I somehow still have this disconnect between your Trailblazer and the Melanie I knew around here with her battery-powered iPod thing after the stolen CD player in the Olds…

    nice room too.

    March 21, 2008

Leave a Reply

