Skip to content

Employed Again :)

Just before Christmas I took my resume by a school that I knew offered ESL classes and was told that I didn’t have the required experience, but they would keep my resume on file anyway. I was surprised to be invited to an interview several weeks later, but not surprised when I never heard back from them. Then, however, I got an email about a week and a half ago inviting me in for a second interview. I went back last Friday for the interview, and earlier this week they offered me a job as a substitute teacher, which will turn into a regular teaching position as soon as there was an opening. (New students arrive every two weeks, so additional teachers are often needed).

The school is not far from my apartment and is located in one of my favorite areas of Seattle. There isn’t any parking nearby, however, so this week I have been taking the bus to go and observe classes.

seattle071.jpg

Tomorrow I will be substituting for the first time, teaching a 3-hour low-intermediate level class. The class has 12 students, mostly from Asian countries. There are 8 students from Korea, 1 from Japan, 1 from China, 1 from Taiwan… and 1 from Slovakia! I’m really excited about this job; I think it will give me great experience and also be a lot of fun.

*Picture from Google Images.
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dad #

    Well, it really is a pretty funny story, and knowing you so well I believe you were just counting cops!

    February 9, 2008
  2. Thanks Dad 🙂

    February 11, 2008

Leave a Reply

