Skip to content

Counting Cops.

I think humor is often generational and therefore people of different ages find different things to be funny. For that reason, it makes me a little nervous to post some personal anecdotes on here that I find funny but that I think Mom and Dad might not quite see the humor in! However, that being said, I thought I’d share a short story with you about something that happened to me the other night; hope

Peter, one of my friends from Slovakia, was in Seattle for a business trip for most of January. He flew back to Slovakia this past Thursday, so Wednesday night we went to a concert at Seattle’s historic Moore Theater. The show was good but it ended late. By the time we had speed-walked 20 blocks back to my car (it was freezing cold and windy) and drove to Bothell, the suburb north of the city where Peter was staying, it was getting close to 1 AM. I dropped Peter off and decided to take Lake City Way, a city street that follows along the northwest edge of Lake Washington, back to my apartment instead of Interstates 405 and 520. (The interstates do have less stoplights, but you always feel like you are driving on them forever. At 1 AM I figured Lake City Way would not have heavy traffic and would be quicker than the highways).

Immediately after leaving the hotel I was passed by two police cars. I made a mental note to pay close attention to the speed limit. A few minutes later I was passed by a third police car. I wondered how many police cars I would see during the twenty minute drive and started looking for them in the parking lots I passed. I drove along, paying close attention to the speed limit and searching for police cars. Because I was paying such close attention to to both of these things, you can imagine my surprise when I spotted the fourth car- it’s red and blue lights were lighting up my rearview mirror!

I pulled into a well-lit gas station parking lot that I had used before and pulled out my driver’s license and registration. When I rolled down the window, I saw that the policeman was not much older than me, and very good looking! Turns out he was nice too. Our conversation went something like this:

Cop: “So… are you lost or drunk?”

Me: “Neither!”

Cop (somewhat skeptically): “You haven’t had anything to drink today at all?”

Me: “No sir! You can give me a breathalizer, I promise I haven’t had anything to drink!”

Cop: “That’s okay. I don’t smell anything.”

Me: “Really?” (I was definitely telling the truth, but I’m sure this answer didn’t support my cause).

Cop: “Yeah, it’s okay. So, what are you doing then?”

Me (confused): “I thought I was driving the speed limit?”

Cop: “You were. But you changed lanes four or five times in the last few minutes.”

*Epiphany occurs- while I was searching for police cars, I was apparently not paying much attention to lane lines. However, I didn’t think this was the best time to tell a policeman I was not driving well because I was on the lookout for policemen.

Me: “I’m sorry, I’m really tired and I’m on my way home right now.”

Cop: “Uhm, do you live around here? I mean, you don’t live in North Carolina do you?”

Me: “Actually, I’m really lost. Can you tell me how to get to Georgia? I think I took a wrong turn about five days ago. Am I anywhere near Atlanta?”

Just kidding! Don’t worry, I would never actually say that to a policeman! He did ask if I lived in Seattle or North Carolina, and I explained I was just a tired graduate student who was driving straight home to get some sleep, which I did.

This was only the second time I’ve ever been pulled over, but I’d have to say it’s the first time I’ve ever even heard of someone getting pulled over for “counting cops!”

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Grandmama and Granddad #

    Very interesting Melanie. I’m sure your southern accent helped!–and of course your good manners.

    February 11, 2008

Leave a Reply

