Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

happy-thanksgiving.jpg

So this is my first Thanksgiving away from my family… I have to admit, I feel kind of old, haha! I’m getting together with some friends from church later tonight for Thanksgiving dinner. The guys are taking care of the turkey and the girls are bringing the sides and desserts. I just made green bean casserole and cheesy artichoke dip, and will be experimenting with sweet tea later this afternoon. (I actually didn’t like sweet tea until I went to school in South Carolina, but now I can’t imagine a Thanksgiving dinner without it. Sadly, I’ve never attempted to make any kind of tea before, so we’ll see how it turns out. If it’s not good I’m not taking it, I don’t anyone’s first experience with sweet tea to be a bad one)!

In honor of Thanksgiving, I thought I would post a list of some things that I am thankful for this year, so here you go:

1- My Family.

My parents are great and have been really supportive and helpful of me getting along here in Seattle, and I am incredibly thankful for that. My older brother decided a few years ago that he liked me after all and now we’re great friends, and I’m so thankful that I have a big brother who is also a best friend. I also have the cutest sister ever, wonderful grandparents, and a LOT of cousins who I’m pretty close to. (I actually will probably be calling one of them yet again later this afternoon for help with that tea, haha, thanks Sarah)!

2- Friends

Old East Coast friends, new West Coast friends, friends in Slovakia… I’ve been incredibly blessed with amazing friends all over the place. Moving to a place where I didn’t know anyone has shown me how wonderful the friends I have back home really are (as if I didn’t know that already). I moved 3,200 miles away and still get phone calls EVERY day from friends in the Carolinas. In just a few weeks my friend Meagan is flying up for a week- and she’ll be the fifth friend who has come up since I moved here at the end of August!

3- Blue Sky and my Small Group

Along the lines of friends, I’m incredibly thankful for Blue Sky Church and the people I’ve met there. From the very beginning everyone has been so welcoming and has gone out of their way to make me feel at home. I joined a small group with five other people around my age and they are all so fun and friendly. Tonight I’m having Thanksgiving dinner with the group, Saturday night I’m going to see The Nutcracker with a group of girls from church. It’s great to be so far from home but to already know so many great people 🙂

4- The Weather

This may seem a funny thing to have on a list of things I’m thankful for, but as I’m sitting here in the living room (with a fluffy white cat snoring, not purring, under my arm), the sun is shining in through the windows and the only clouds in the sky are the pretty white fluffy ones. It’s much colder here in Seattle than it is back home (the high is 47 today, compared to 76 in eastern NC), but I am really enjoying having a “real” fall this year. I’ll definitely be wearing a scarf and a pea coat to dinner tonight, which just makes everything feel more festive.

5- Christmas is Coming…

The goose is getting fat? I haven’t seen any geese in a while, but in just two weeks my first quarter of grad school will be over and Meagan will be here! After she leaves there will only be one more week before I head to the airport to fly home for Christmas!

Happy Thanksgiving!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

