Skip to content

Three Weeks, and Counting.

Three weeks from today I’ll be in an airplane somewhere over the Atlantic headed towards Slovakia. If you know me, you know that Slovakia is one of my favorite places on the face of the earth; however, if you happen to be reading this and don’t know me, I’ll explain briefly.

The college ministry at my church here in Columbia sends a group of students to Slovakia every summer to work alongside a Slovak church and its youth group to hold an English camp for high school students. The camp is always a week long and located somewhere in the beautiful mountains of Slovakia. I have gone on this trip each summer of college, for as short as ten days and as long as ten weeks. This summer marks my fifth trip to Slovakia, fourth time at camp, and I can’t wait to be there!

This year I’m not just going on the trip, but am co-leading it with my friend Robby. (Robby also just graduated and this will be his fifth trip to Slovakia too). Robby just got back from spending about three weeks in Slovakia on a post-graduation trip, so we met this afternoon for him to fill me in on some camp details and to finalize more of our plans. Every time we get together to talk about the trip I get even more excited than I already am!

I think this year’s camp could very possibly be the best year ever. Our team is great, the Slovak team is even more amazing, and everyone involved seems super excited and dedicated. During the summer of 2005 Robby and I spent ten weeks in Slovakia as interns with Josiah Venture, the ministry that we work with each summer who helps to put on the camps. Two other girls from our church (Laura and Heather) were interns that summer too. Laura moved to Slovakia in February and will be one of the camp directors this year. All three of us (Laura, Robby, and I) will be speaking this year during the evening programs.

During the next three weeks we have a lot to do. There are supplies to buy, activities to plan, and details to work out, but I have no doubt that all of this will get done. I just hope everything we have to do will make these weeks fly by! If you think about it, please remember me, Robby, our team, and all of our Slovak friends in your prayers as we prepare- and don’t worry, there are sure to be plenty of pictures and stories posted on here at the end of the summer!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

